The Run


Poised stretched and ready

The gun sounds as the dam breaks

Mighty river flows

 

Counting breaths for pace

One foot follows another

Miles accumulate

 

Every step I take

Creates a new horizon

Of great potential

 

Slow trickles of sweat

Erode yesterday’s tension

Lost in this moment

 

Running through the pain

Training forged  tenacity

To conquer myself

 

Regardless of fear

I believe therefore I can

And will persevere

 

One more finish line

Brings me closer to new goals

Not yet realized

 

Leave a Reply

