Gallery

Surrender


The cold outside clings to everything

I can’t seem to shake it off my clothes

or loosen its grip on my bones

grasping at warm thoughts

as though thoughts matter over mind

yet still I try, and everywhere reminders

poke callous faces around corners

baring sharp snaggled teeth

through snide sideways smiles

pointing bony thin skinned fingers

while cackling dry raspy laughter

crackles the glass of my pain

in crystalline icy patterns

further reminding me of my plight

so I give up the fight and surrender instead

as I pull the pile of blankets over my head.

Leave a Reply

